Global Edition

Craig Tracey MP elected Co-Chair of Parliamentary Golf Group

1.13pm 13th September 2017 - People

Craig Tracey MP has become Co-Chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Golf Group. Tracey, the Member of Parliament for North Warwickshire was elected as a Co-Chair of the Group by Members at a meeting yesterday afternoon (12 September).

APPG Golf Co-Chairs Craig Tracey MP (Left) and Stephen Gethins MP (Right)

A lifelong golf fan and an active member of the Group, Tracey joins Stephen Gethins MP as Co-Chair. His constituency of North Warwickshire is home to The Professional Golfers’ Association, who are responsible for educating and training golf professionals to operate in all areas of the sport.

Speaking after the meeting, Craig Tracey MP said “I am delighted to become a Co-Chair of the Parliamentary Golf Group and join colleagues of all parties to promote, support and challenge issues within the sport. Golf is a fantastic sport that provides opportunities for people of all ages to participate and maintain an active, healthy lifestyle, and also delivers huge benefits to the UK economy.

“The Group is one of the strongest in Parliament, and is committed to standing up for the sport. I am looking forward to playing a more active role as we continue to support golf at all levels over the course of this Parliament.”

Co-Chair and Member of Parliament for North East Fife, Stephen Gethins MP, added “I am pleased that Craig has joined me as a Co-Chair of the Group. Since the Group was established in the last Parliament we have supported golf and industries associated with it on a range of issues, and I look forward to working with Craig, and with all Members, to provide a strong voice for the sport in Parliament.”

Officers of the Group are:

Co-Chair: Stephen Gethins MP (SNP)

Co-Chair: Craig Tracey MP (Conservative)

Vice-Chair: Baroness Nye of Lambeth (Labour)

Vice-Chair: Lord Moynihan (Conservative)

Vice-Chair: Laurence Robertson MP (Conservative)

Vice-Chair: Gavin Newlands MP (SNP)

Vice-Chair: Rt Hon Cheryl Gillan MP (Conservative)

Vice-Chair: John Mann MP (Labour)

The All-Party Parliamentary Golf Group has the singular goal “to support the sport of golf.”  Members of both Houses of Parliament, and Associate Members, meet in Westminster when Parliament is sitting to raise, discuss, and resolve issues important to golf.

The Group receives no taxpayer funding and is reliant on subscriptions from external partners to help deliver its aims.

 /  / 

In related news... (GBN) is for the many thousands of people who work in the golf business all around the world.

We cover the full range of topics both on and off the course. We aim to supply essential information both quickly and accurately in a format which is easy to use. We are independent of all special interest groups.


Click here to sign up for our free twice weekly golf industry news summary

View the latest newsletter here