Global Edition

St Andrews University Honours Golfing Greats

9.50am 15th July 2010 - People - This story was updated on Friday, July 16th, 2010

Sir Menzies Campbell, Chancellor, Padraig Harrington, Arnold Palmer, Jim Farmer, Tom Watson, Johann Rupert, and Dr Louise Richardson, Vice-Chancellor picture by Alan Richardson

Arnold Palmer, Tom Watson and Padraig Harrington were awarded Honorary Degrees by the University of St Andrews in a public ceremony in the town’s Younger Hall along with Johann Rupert, Executive Chairman and CEO of Richemont, on Tuesday July 13th 2010.

Jim Farmer, the present PGA Captain and Honorary Professional to The R&A, was presented with the University Medal.

The trio of champions has won 18 major championships, including 9 British Open titles, over the course of the last half century. The University awarded each of them the degree of Doctor of Laws honoris causa in recognition of their achievements and outstanding contributions to the game of golf.

The degrees were conferred by University Chancellor Sir Menzies Campbell in front of an audience which was estimated at 1,000 and included previous recipients of Honorary Degrees Sir Michael Bonallack and Peter Alliss.

University Principal and Vice-Chancellor Dr Louise Richardson said: “Individually and collectively, Arnold Palmer, Tom Watson and Padraig Harrington exemplify excellence, drive and achievement at the highest levels of professional sport.”

Founded in the 15th century, St Andrews is Scotland’s first university and the third oldest in the English speaking world.

University of St Andrews

 /  /  /  /  /  /  /  /  /  /  / 

In related news... (GBN) is for the many thousands of people who work in the golf business all around the world.

We cover the full range of topics both on and off the course. We aim to supply essential information both quickly and accurately in a format which is easy to use. We are independent of all special interest groups.


Click here to sign up for our free twice weekly golf industry news summary

View the latest newsletter here