Global Edition

AIB Golf Club of the Year awards

12.10am 2nd November 2004 - People

There are five first time winners in AIB golf club of the year awards. The all Ireland category winners and the AIB Golf Club of the Year will be announced in this year’s awards ceremony on 19th November.
Strandhill, Harbour Point, Cork, Holywood and Sutton Golf Clubs have all won a first award in the annual AIB Golf Club of the Year Awards scheme.
Three clubs, including last year’s overall AIB Golf Club of the Year, Dunmurry, have taken two provincial awards each, while three clubs -Dunmurry, Bantry Bay and Elm Park – all feature on the awards list for the third year in succession.
In all 12 clubs will be honoured in this year’s awards ceremony due to take place on the 19th November. At the presentation the all Ireland category winners and the AIB Golf Club of the Year will be announced.
Speaking at the announcement of the provincial winners AIB general manager, Billy Andrews said, “We are delighted to see another five clubs join the roll of honour. This is the third year of the scheme and each year we have seen the bar being raised by nearly all the clubs. It is also great to see new clubs joining the winners each year.”
The AIB Golf Club of the Year scheme is a joint venture between AIB, the Irish Ladies Golf Union and the Golfing Union of Ireland. The scheme focuses on the many non-playing aspects of a golf club that are essential to the long-term success of the club. In 2002, the first year of the scheme, the overall AIB Club of the Year was Co Sligo. Last year Dunmurry took the overall title.
The awards scheme focuses on four areas of increasing importance to the golf club namely Junior Golf, the Environment, the Clubhouse and Communications. The awards are presented on a geographical basis with provincial and All Ireland awards in all four categories. There is then one overall award for the club, which the judges feel, has performed best across all four category areas. That club, which does not necessarily have to come from the provincial category winners, then becomes the AIB Golf Club of the Year.
The provincial winners all receive AIB/ILGU/GUI certificates with the All Ireland category winners and the overall AIB Golf Club of the Year receive monetary prizes.

In related news... (GBN) is for the many thousands of people who work in the golf business all around the world.

We cover the full range of topics both on and off the course. We aim to supply essential information both quickly and accurately in a format which is easy to use. We are independent of all special interest groups.


Click here to sign up for our free twice weekly golf industry news summary

View the latest newsletter here