Global Edition

Secretaries Form Institute

9.00am 17th August 1999 - Management Topics

Neil Hallam-Jones, secretary at Barton-on-Sea Golf Club, has been appointed chairman of the newly formed Institute of Golf Club Management, an offshoot of the Association of Golf Club Secretaries.

At the recent inaugural AGM, five other secretaries – David Bluck (Vale of Llangollen), Pat Clash (Lee-on-the-Solent), Robin Crabb (West Surrey), David Deas (Glasgow) and Derek Howe (Stoke-by-Nayland) – were elected to the IGCM’s management committee.

To qualify for IGCM membership, secretaries must not only have run a club for at least five years but must also submit a paper on a particular aspect of golf club administration. These papers will eventually form a library available to any serving club secretary.

AGCS secretary, Ray Burniston (01934-641166) will act as the new body’s secretary.

 /  /  / 

In related news...