Global Edition

Finalists announced for 2019 England Golf Awards

9.51pm 14th January 2019 - Growing the Game

A shortlist of finalists has been announced for the England Golf Awards 2019, the winners of which will be revealed at the awards dinner at the Royal Lancaster London on Thursday, 21 March.

Nick Pink, England Golf Chief Executive, said: “A very big thank you to everyone who took the time to nominate and to the judges, who had an incredibly difficult job to produce this shortlist of amazing volunteers, players, clubs and counties. They all contribute so much to the sport that we all love and we look forward to telling their stories over the coming weeks, as we build up to our gala dinner. Their contribution to golf in England is immeasurable and they really do make the game great.”

Tickets for the black tie awards dinner, sponsored by adidas golf and hosted by Dan Walker, cost £90 each and include drinks on arrival and a three-course dinner with half a bottle of wine per person.

The finalists are:

Most Welcoming Club of the Year, sponsored by HowDidiDo
Branston Golf & Country Club, Staffordshire
Burghill Valley Golf Club, Herefordshire
Exeter Golf and Country Club, Devon
Horton Park Golf Club, Surrey

Coach of the Year, sponsored by The PGA
Philip Akers – PGA National Golf Academy, The Belfry, Warwickshire
Stuart Disney – The Mendip Golf Club, Somerset
Mark Johnson – Styal Golf Club, Cheshire
Aaron Lansberry – Hatchford Brook Golf Centre, Warwickshire

Innovation Award of the Year, sponsored by Players 1st
AL Golf Junior Academies, Hatchford Brook Golf Centre, Warwickshire
Mytime Active at Bromley and Orpington Golf Centres, Kent
Golf Access
Slinfold Golf and Country Club, West Sussex

Volunteer of the Year
Mark Feeney – West Derby Golf Club, Lancashire
Susanne Lesley and Owen Lewis – Royal Ascot Golf Club, Berkshire
Judith Sandford – Cheadle Golf Club, Cheshire
Marcella Tuttle – The Links Golf Club, Newmarket

Young Ambassador of the Year, in association with the Golf Foundation
Ella Baker – GL Golf at Warley Woods Golf Club, Worcestershire
Louise McLoughlin – Bromborough Golf Club, Cheshire
Jessica Pilgrim – Stoke Park Golf Club, Buckinghamshire
Georgina Wrixon – Ashley Wood Golf Club, Dorset

Performance of the Year
England men’s team
Conor Gough of Stoke Park Golf Club, Buckinghamshire
Mitch Waite of Filton Golf Club, Gloucestershire
Caitlin Whitehead of Carus Green Golf Club, Cumbria

Championship Venue of the Year
Frilford Heath Golf Club, Oxfordshire
Kedleston Park Golf Club, Derbyshire
Sherwood Forest Golf Club, Nottinghamshire
Stanton on the Wolds Golf Club, Nottinghamshire

County of the Year

Lifetime Service Award
To be announced at the awards dinner.

In related news...