Global Edition

Royal Birkdale to host 2008 Open

3.00pm 16th February 2004 - Travel

Royal Birkdale has been named by The R&A as the venue for the 2008 Open Championship which will be played from 17th to 20th July.
The Open has been to Birkdale on eight previous occasions and it was in 1954, the first, that Peter Thomson won the first of his five Open Championship titles. Eleven years later, in 1965 at Birkdale, he rounded off his collection of Open wins with a further triumph that he described as ‘my greatest win‘. Birkdale was a great favourite of Thomson’s and he lovingly described it as ‘man-sized but not a monster‘.
“Royal Birkdale has endeared itself to all of the world’s top golfers,” said Peter Dawson, chief executive of The R&A. “And we must remember that with his win there in 1961, Arnold Palmer is rightly credited with starting the renaissance of The Open. We are delighted to be returning in 2008.”
In giving details of the 2008 Open, David Hill, director of championships of The R&A said, “Royal Birkdale is a venue which in addition to setting a rigorous examination of the abilities of all golfers, also has a first-class infrastructure which is capable of coping with large numbers of spectators.
“Almost 200,000 people watched Mark O‘Meara winning in 1998 and we are delighted that the golfing public in Lancashire and the surrounding areas will again be given the opportunity of viewing 156 of the world’s leading players in 2008.”
Graham Haywood, chief executive of Sefton Council said, “I am delighted that The Open Championship will be returning to Royal Birkdale, Southport in 2008. The event is very special and of enormous benefit to the area, particularly our marketing of the area as England’s Golf Coast. It was a tremendous success in 1998 and I am sure that 2008 will be even better.”
Royal Birkdale was founded in 1889 and eight years later moved to its present home at ‘Birkdale Hills‘. Much of the present layout was modelled on a design by Hawtree & J H Taylor Ltd in the 1920s and to complement the course which threads its way through mighty sand dunes, the present-day clubhouse was constructed in 1935 on elevated ground behind the 18th green.

Previous Winners at Royal Birkdale

For further information contact: –
Peter Dawson, Chief Executive
David Hill, Director of Championships
The R&A
Tel: 01334 460000

The Open

In related news... (GBN) is for the many thousands of people who work in the golf business all around the world.

We cover the full range of topics both on and off the course. We aim to supply essential information both quickly and accurately in a format which is easy to use. We are independent of all special interest groups.


Click here to sign up for our free twice weekly golf industry news summary

View the latest newsletter here