Global Edition

Award for Golf Museum Director

1.00pm 22nd November 1999 - People

The British Golf Collectors Society has awarded its prestigious Murdoch Medal for outstanding achievement in the field of golf history to Peter Lewis, Director of the British Golf Museum. The award was made in recognition of the research and documentation of the history of golf, co-authorship of the highly acclaimed “Challenges & Champions – The Royal and Ancient Golf Club 1754-1883” and for his book “The Dawn of Professional Golf”.

The Murdoch Medal was first presented in 1994 and past winners have been Alaister Johnson, John Behrend, Fred Hawtree and Jeff Ellis.

Peter Lewis has been Director of the British Golf Museum since 1988 and Historian to the R&A since 1992.


You can see the latest news letter here.

Follow us on Twitter and LinkedIn.            

Use the tabs above to select the section(s) which you wish to search.

Enter the name of the person, place, organisation or topic for which you are searching. Use as many words as required - there is no need to enclose them in quotation marks. Prefixing a search term with a hyphen/minus-sign will exclude results matching that term.

For example 'artificial -turf' will return results containing 'artificial' but not 'turf'.

In each month and year listed below every article that has ever appeared in golfbusinessnews is reproduced in reverse date order.