Global Edition

IAGTO Awards

12.20am 14th December 2005 - Travel

The IAGTO Awards in association with Hertz are the official annual awards for the golf tourism industry. The gala awards evening took place in the 16th century Plaza Santa Ana in the Gran Canarian capital of Las Palmas on 8th December 2005, the last day of the International Golf Travel Market.
IAGTO is the global trade organisation for the golf tourism industry, comprising more than 860 companies in 66 countries, including over 240 specialist golf tour operators in 38 countries. IAGTO’s chief executive, Peter Walton, said, “The annual golf holiday is the highlight of the golfing year for many of the world’s 50 million players, and the IAGTO Awards serve to reward a few exceptional contributions to this world of golf travel. There is certainly no shortage of candidates worthy of recognition. Many individuals, companies, organisations and destinations have excelled in delivering a great golfing experience to the golf traveller – the ultimate goal for all involved in golf tourism.
“The Awards serve also to encourage private and public sector organisations to work closely together in the development and promotion of new and existing golf destinations, making them accessible to and enjoyable by the widest range of golfers. Each year we recognise the performance of three of the world’s leading golf resorts, the flagships of our industry, and the ceremony culminates in the presentation of our Honorary Award in tribute to the achievements of one extraordinary individual.
“From the gala dinner through to the recreation of the island’s annual carnival, the 6th annual awards were a truly spectacular event thanks to our hosts in Gran Canaria, the Canary Islands Government and to the enormous support we receive from Hertz.”

The winners of the IAGTO Awards in association with Hertz were:
Golf Resort of the Year – Europe: Westin Turnberry Resort, Scotland
Golf Resort of the Year – North America: Pebble Beach Resorts, California
Golf Resort of the Year – Rest of the World: Mission Hills Resort, China
Undiscovered Golf Destination of the Year: Egypt
Emerging Golf Destination of the Year: Thailand
Established Golf Destination of the Year: The Algarve
IAGTO Honorary Award: Nick Faldo

The Golf Destination and Golf Resort awards are voted for by IAGTO’s specialist golf tour operator members. Each operator was asked to vote for what they considered to be the best performing golf resorts of the year. The following criteria were considered:

  • Customer satisfaction
  • Quality of golf courses and accommodation
  • Value for money
  • Support from suppliers, tourist boards & airlines
  • Professional conduct of suppliers
  • Accessibility to tee times

The Undiscovered Golf Destination of the Year award is voted for by the 60 golf travel journalists from 15 countries of the Golf Travel Writers Association, who consider the following:

  • To what extent is the golf destination undiscovered
  • Qualities that make for an interesting golf destination
  • Attractiveness of the region and of the courses
  • Golf course quality & accessibility
  • Standard of accommodation
  • Friendliness of the staff
  • Value for money
  • Speed of play
  • Climate



You can see the latest news letter here.

Follow us on Twitter and LinkedIn.            

Use the tabs above to select the section(s) which you wish to search.

Enter the name of the person, place, organisation or topic for which you are searching. Use as many words as required - there is no need to enclose them in quotation marks. Prefixing a search term with a hyphen/minus-sign will exclude results matching that term.

For example 'artificial -turf' will return results containing 'artificial' but not 'turf'.

In each month and year listed below every article that has ever appeared in golfbusinessnews is reproduced in reverse date order.