Global Edition

Asbri Golf Extend Welsh National PGA Championship Sponsorship

2.38pm 12th December 2014 - Sponsorship & Events

Stephen Dodd, the 2014 champion (courtesy of Paul Thomas at Getty Images)
Stephen Dodd, the 2014 champion (courtesy of Paul Thomas at Getty Images)

Leading logo golf brand Asbri Golf has been appointed to PGA Official Supplier status after signing a new three-year agreement.

As part of the deal, the Caerphilly-based company will continue its sponsorship of the Welsh National PGA Championship, having been the title sponsor for the past two years.

Paul Williams, sales and marketing director of Asbri, said: “We are delighted to have reached a three-year agreement to be PGA Official Suppliers and to continue as proud sponsors of the Welsh National PGA Championship until 2017. PGA Professionals have supported our business for over 10 years and it’s fantastic to be in a position to give something back.

“We have enjoyed a thriving relationship with everyone at the PGA for the past couple of seasons sponsoring the Welsh National and the Official Supplier agreement is now the icing on the cake. Credibility for our brand and products doesn’t come any higher and we are thoroughly delighted to have the endorsement of The PGA.”

Robert Maxfield, joint chief operating officer – property and commercial director at The PGA, said: “We have developed a strong relationship with Asbri Golf over the past two years and we’re delighted to strengthen that with them becoming a PGA Official Supplier.

“They are very knowledgeable and passionate about golf, which they illustrated when becoming the title sponsor of the Welsh National PGA Championship. We look forward to their continued support of the Championship and working with them over the next three years.”

The tournament, the oldest on the PGA’s national schedule, will return to its historic roots next year as it is being staged at South Wales-based Radyr Golf Club, which has a rich association with the tournament.

Radyr, which opened in 1902, had the honour of hosting the inaugural championship in 1904 – and has staged it on four subsequent occasions the last time being in 1976.

The 36-hole championship, which carries a prize fund of £10,000, will take place from July 8-9, 2015.

European Tour winner Stephen Dodd won the title for a fifth time last year to edge to within one of Sid Mouland’s record of six. Previous winners of the tournament also include Ryder Cup-winning captain Ian Woosnam, and past Ryder Cup players Brian Huggett and Philip Price.

PGA News

Asbri Golf

 /  /  /  / 

In related news... (GBN) is for the many thousands of people who work in the golf business all around the world.

We cover the full range of topics both on and off the course. We aim to supply essential information both quickly and accurately in a format which is easy to use. We are independent of all special interest groups.


Click here to sign up for our free twice weekly golf industry news summary

View the latest newsletter here