Global Edition

Six Rookies Set to Represent Foremost at 2015 Ashworth Cup

11.15am 4th August 2015 - People

Darren Parris
Darren Parris

Foremost has announced the finalised line-up for its Ashworth Cup team which this year features six rookies.

The 12 man team is made up of the winners and runners-up of both the three Regional Foremost Championships and the main Foremost Championship, in addition to four captain’s picks.

In all, six of the twelve will be making their first appearance in the Cup in late August, with the team led by captain and Ashworth Cup veteran Darren Parris.

The team is highlighted by Foremost Champion Andrew George of Ely City and Regional Champions Steve Russell (Bridgnorth), Jason Groat (Denver) and Scott Jackson (Disley).

Joining those who qualified outright for the team are captain’s picks Richard O’Hanlon (St. Kew), Stephen Bennett (Waltham Windmill), Sion Bebb (Morlais Castle) and ex-Ryder Cup player Peter Baker (South Staffordshire).

Parris’ selection as Captain was a popular choice with members who have qualified for the team who will benefit from his vast Ashworth Cup experience.

Speaking on the announcement of his twelve man side, Darren highlighted the benefits of having six rookies in his side.

“I’m really excited to have such a great mix of experience and new blood in the team. That’s the beauty of the qualifying criteria that’s used to determine the side. It gives everyone several chances to play their way onto the team,” he said.

Foremost Company Director Andy Martin added, “We feel that it’s extremely important that every one of our members has the opportunity to represent Foremost at the Ashworth Cup. It ensures that we will have the strongest possible 12 man line-up representing the company each year.”

The team will assemble at The Belfry in late August as they vie to win the Cup for a second consecutive year.

Foremost Golf

View more stories about People in the business and latest list of Most-read stories

 /  /  /  / 

In related news...