Global Edition

Open Champion Receives More Medals

9.00am 17th March 2000 - People

At last night’s 24th Annual Dinner for the Scottish Region of the PGA Paul Lawrie received three awards from PGA Captain Alan Walker. The awards, normally presented at the Volvo PGA Championship at Wentworth in May, all arose from Paul Lawrie’s Open Championship victory at Carnoustie last year.

The Ryle Memorial Medal is only awarded when a PGA member wins The Open and was last presented to Nick Faldo in 1992. The Braid-Taylor Memorial Medal is awarded

to the PGA member who finishes highest in The Open Championship and The Tooting Bec Cup (it is actually a medal, despite its name) goes to the PGA member who returns the lowest single round score in The Open. Paul Lawrie’s 67 on the final day at Carnoustie secured him this award.

 /  /  /  /  /  /  /  /  / 

In related news... (GBN) is for the many thousands of people who work in the golf business all around the world.

We cover the full range of topics both on and off the course. We aim to supply essential information both quickly and accurately in a format which is easy to use. We are independent of all special interest groups.


Click here to sign up for our free twice weekly golf industry news summary

View the latest newsletter here