Global Edition

Bradley S. Klein to receive 40th ASGCA Donald Ross Award

4.20pm 14th November 2014 - People

Bradley S. Klein,Bradley S. Klein, “Golfweek” magazine’s architecture editor, has been selected by the American Society of Golf Course Architects (ASGCA) as the 2015 Donald Ross Award recipient, the 40th winner since the award was introduced in 1976. The award will be presented in March 2015 during the 69th ASGCA Annual Meeting in La Jolla, California. The award is named for ASGCA’s first president, and is presented to an individual who has made a positive contribution to golf and golf course architecture.

A former PGA Tour caddie and 2006 inductee into the International Caddie Hall of Fame, Klein has written and lectured widely on golf course design, the golf development industry and sports media. The New York native joined “Golfweek” in 1988.

Klein holds a Ph.D. in political science, spending 14 years as a university professor in international relations, political theory and media studies before devoting himself full time to golf writing. He has published seven books on golf course architecture and history, including “Discovering Donald Ross,” winner of the USGA 2001 International Book Award, and “Wide Open Fairways.”

Klein joins an impressive list of journalists who have received the Ross Award, including Herbert Warren Wind, Peter Dobereiner, Charles Price, Dick Taylor, Ron Whitten, George Peper, and James Dodson.

“Brad has traveled the world studying and reporting on golf course architecture,” ASGCA President Lee Schmidt said. “His articles and books have informed golfers and non-golfers alike, telling the story of courses and those who design them.

“His critiques keep architecture in the public eye, and start conversations about how design contributes so much to the essence of the game. ASGCA respects his knowledge and perspective. We appreciate his skill in describing what we do and all that golf courses bring to our communities.”

Klein and his wife, Professor Jane Nadel-Klein, live in Bloomfield, Connecticut.

The Donald Ross Award is presented by the ASGCA Awards Committee, co-chaired by ASGCA Vice President Steve Smyers and 2013 Ross Award recipient Rees Jones, ASGCA.


 /  /  /  /  /  /  / 

In related news... (GBN) is for the many thousands of people who work in the golf business all around the world.

We cover the full range of topics both on and off the course. We aim to supply essential information both quickly and accurately in a format which is easy to use. We are independent of all special interest groups.


Click here to sign up for our free twice weekly golf industry news summary

View the latest newsletter here