Global Edition

Prestwick Remembers Old Tom Morris

12.01pm 25th June 2021 - Courses - This story was updated on Saturday, June 26th, 2021

Prestwick Golf Club, the Birthplace of The Open Championship, has celebrated the 200th anniversary of the birth of Tom Morris with the unveiling of a commemorative plaque at the site of where he struck the first shot in major championship golf in 1860.

Past Captains, brothers Brian and Tim Morrison, who is the godson of Sir Henry Cotton, three-time Open Champion, unveiled the plaque.

Pat Lockett, current Captain of Prestwick Golf Club, said, “The name of Tom Morris will be forever linked with the history and evolution of the game of golf and with Prestwick Golf Club. The original 12-hole course that he laid out at Prestwick was the forerunner of many iconic courses he designed. He was also instrumental in the extension of the course to 18 holes in 1882. The fact that the course has stood the test of time and has survived relatively unchanged, is testament to his skill and vision.

As a player, his ability was possibly only surpassed by that of his son, Tommy. They both won the Open on four occasions over the Prestwick links between 1861 and 1872.”

Prestwick hosted the Open 24 times in total with the last one in 1925. A cairn was erected in 1977 to mark the site of the opening shot in the first Open. It was unveiled by Sir Henry Cotton, Open Champion in 1934,1937 and 1948.

Prestwick Golf Club was founded in 1851 by a group of 57 members who met at the Red Lion Inn, Prestwick.

Tom Morris was appointed Keeper of the Green, Ball and Clubmaker to Prestwick Golf Club in 1851 and the original 12 holes of Prestwick was the first of many courses he laid out over his long career. He remained at Prestwick until 1864 when he returned to St Andrews to become the Custodian of the Links.

 /  /  / 

In related news...