Global Edition

WAGC revises 2002 championship dates

3.00pm 4th September 2001 - Management Topics

The WAGC and the Malaysian Golf Association have announced that the 20th women’s competition for the Espirito Santo Trophy will now be held from 16-19 October 2002, previously the dates were 2-5 October. The 23rd men’s competition for the Eisenhower Trophy will now be held from 24-27 October 2002, previously 10-13 October.

Furthermore the teams participating in the Eisenhower will now consist of three players instead of four.This will allow more countries to play in the Championship while still maintaining the event on two courses, both designed by Ron Fream and opened in 1985.

The WAGC Administrative Committe has recently ratified the membership applications of the golfing unions for England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales. These unions will now be able to participate in the Council.

The Women’s division will continue to have these countries represented as one entity by the Ladies Golf Union.

The WAGC was founded in 1958 to encourage the international development of golf and to employ the game as a vehicle to foster friendship and sportsmanship among the peoples of the world.

Serving as the International Olympic Committee’s recognised international federation for golf, the WAGC comprises the national governing bodies of amateur golf in nearly 100 countries.


You can see the latest news letter here.

Follow us on Twitter and LinkedIn.            

Use the tabs above to select the section(s) which you wish to search.

Enter the name of the person, place, organisation or topic for which you are searching. Use as many words as required - there is no need to enclose them in quotation marks. Prefixing a search term with a hyphen/minus-sign will exclude results matching that term.

For example 'artificial -turf' will return results containing 'artificial' but not 'turf'.

In each month and year listed below every article that has ever appeared in golfbusinessnews is reproduced in reverse date order.