Global Edition

Valderrama to host Volvo Masters through to 2010

12.15am 19th March 2007 - Sponsorship

The Volvo Masters celebrates its 20th anniversary this year with the announcement that The European Tour’s season finale will continue at Club de Golf Valderrama for at least a further three years until 2010.

The announcement continues the partnership between The European Tour, Turismo Andaluz, Volvo and Valderrama which dates back to the first Volvo Masters in 1988.

Mel Pyatt, Volvo Event Management President and CEO, said, “The partnership developed between Volvo, Valderrama, The European Tour and Turismo Andaluz has delivered success at every level. It has been an enduring friendship and we are delighted to confirm that, due to Turismo Andaluz’s decision to remain as our principal partner, the Volvo Masters will continue for at least another three years at Valderrama until the end of 2010 as the end of season event on The European Tour.”

Felipe Ortiz-Patià±o, President of Club de Golf Valderrama, said, “It’s an honour to follow in my father’s footsteps as President of Valderrama, which will be the perfect setting where Europe’s Number One player will be decided. I am sure that, as in the previous years, the union between Volvo and Valderrama will produce one of the great sports events of the year.”

Sergio Moreno, Minister of Tourism, Commerce and Sports from Junta de Andalucia, said, “Andalucia and Volvo Masters are celebrating 20 years together, showing that our region is a unique place for golf. Over the past two decades, we have proved our capacity to host big sporting events. This long road has helped to position Andalucia prominently in the world of golf.”

George O‘Grady, Chief Executive of The European Tour, said, “For the past 20 years, the Volvo Masters has provided a dramatic climax to our international schedule and it is fitting that we are celebrating a partnership between Volvo, Turismo Andaluz and The European Tour that will continue well into a third decade.

“In 1988, when we signed the initial agreement to stage the Volvo Masters at Valderrama, it would have been difficult to envisage that, in 2007, we would be celebrating this 20th anniversary and looking forward – thanks to the commitment of Volvo and Turismo Andaluz – to a minimum of another three years of the Volvo Masters at Valderrama, taking us through to 2010.”

The Volvo Masters has consistently provided a thrilling conclusion to The European Tour International Schedule, both in determining the winner of the event and the winner of The European Tour Order of Merit. Last year India’s Jeev Milkha Singh claimed the title to join the list of illustrious champions while Padraig Harrington pipped Paul Casey for the Harry Vardon Trophy by winning the Order of Merit.

European Tour

In related news...