Global Edition

Titleist And Footjoy Extend Backing of EGU Order Of Merit

3.05pm 28th February 2011 - Sponsorship - This story was updated on Wednesday, March 2nd, 2011

Eddie Pepperell after his victory at Montado Hotel and Golf Resort.

Titleist and FootJoy have agreed to extend their sponsorship of the EGU Order of Merit for 2011.

The two market-leading brands have supported the ranking system for a number of years and the English Golf Union is delighted they will continue to have their names associated with it.

The 2011 Titleist FootJoy Order of Merit was launched last weekend with the Portuguese Amateur Championship and the early leader is Eddie Pepperell following his superb victory at Montado Hotel and Golf Resort.

That earned him 300 points and he is followed by his BB&O colleagues Craig Hinton and Tyrrell Hatton, who finished joint sixth and equal ninth respectively in Portugal.

The Mens’ EGU Order of Merit has been running for nine years and 2011 will see a few changes in the schedule of qualifying tournaments and championships. The Italian Amateur and the Parman Trophy have been omitted while the Waterford Trophy in Kent is an addition.

“We are excited to announce our continued support of the EGU Order of Merit. The quality of amateur golf continues to go from strength to strength and we are proud to be able to support the growth of the game at this level” commented Jacques Retief, Titleist and FootJoy’s Leadership Next Generation Liason.

All the previous winners of the Titlest/FootJoy EGU Order of Merit are now professionals. They include Gary Wolstenholme, Matthew Richardson, Ross McGowan, Gary Lockerbie, Chris Wood, who won it in successive years, Dale Whitnell and Tommy Fleetwood, the 2010 winner.

To see full details of all player’s progress in the Titleist FootJoy Order of Merit visit the EGU website






 •  • 
You can see the latest news letter here.

Follow us on Twitter and LinkedIn.            

Use the tabs above to select the section(s) which you wish to search.

Enter the name of the person, place, organisation or topic for which you are searching. Use as many words as required - there is no need to enclose them in quotation marks. Prefixing a search term with a hyphen/minus-sign will exclude results matching that term.

For example 'artificial -turf' will return results containing 'artificial' but not 'turf'.

In each month and year listed below every article that has ever appeared in golfbusinessnews is reproduced in reverse date order.