Global Edition

McDowell, McGinley, Grant and Cannon win 2013 Irish Golf Writers Awards

3.33pm 14th February 2014 - Sponsorship

Carr Golf TravelGraeme McDowell has been voted ‘Professional of the Year’ at the Irish Golf Writers’ Association awards for 2013, which are being sponsored by the Carr Golf Group. The 34-year-old Ulsterman was a multiple winner on tour last year, when he captured the RBC Heritage tournament on the PGA Tour and added the Volvo World Match-Play championship and Alstom French Open titles on the PGA European Tour.

Paul McGinley, the first Irishman to be elected captain of Europe’s Ryder Cup team, will be the recipient of the ‘Distinguished Services to Golf’ award. Paul will be recognised by the IGWA for his outstanding contribution to Irish golf at the awards dinner on March 6th. McGinley has throughout his career, offered great support for the development of junior golfers in Ireland.

Paula Grant (Lisburn Golf Club) has been voted ‘Women’s Amateur of the Year’ and Robbie Cannon (Balbriggan Golf Club) has won the ‘Men’s Amateur of the Year’ award.

The recipients will receive their awards at an Awards Dinner, sponsored by Carr Golf Group, to be held at Portmarnock Golf Clubon March 6th.

The Irish Golf Writers’ Association (IGWA) was founded in 1976 and hosts an annual awards dinner to honour the Professional Player of the Year, the Women’s Amateur Player of the Year, the Men’s Amateur Player of the Year and a person who has been deemed to have made an outstanding contribution to golf in Ireland.

Carr Golf Group

 /  /  / 

In related news...