Global Edition

Leading buying group salutes PGA Assistants Award winners

7.16am 16th March 2009 - Sponsorship & Events

TGI Golf, Europe’s leading buying group for golf professionals, continues to support the next generation of PGA pros by sponsoring the PGA Regional Awards for Assistants.

The TGI Golf Regional Assistants Awards took place at the PGA Annual General Meetings this month where the best-performing registered assistants in each of the seven regions received a cheque and an award from TGI Golf. (The full list of winners appears below)

TGI Golf, which celebrates its 25th anniversary this year, has a membership of nearly 400 across the UK, Ireland and Holland. TGI has sponsored the PGA Regional Assistants Awards for the past two years, having previously supported jus the Scottish award for six years.

Eddie Reid, TGI Golf managing director, said, “TGI Golf has been supporting PGA professionals for 25 years and we see our continued sponsorship of the PGA Assistants Awards as a commitment for the long term sustainability of the industry.

“PGA training and qualification gives assistants the knowledge and practical skills to become successful professionals. TGI Golf congratulates the winners of these awards for their hard work and dedication in working towards that qualification.”

PGA chief executive Sandy Jones added, “The continued education and training of the next generation of PGA professionals is important to the long term success of golf and the newly trained professionals will become key figures in the successful growth and development of the sport.

“We are delighted that TGI continue to support these young professionals by sponsoring awards across all the PGA’s regions and we offer hearty congratulations to all the winners.”
TGI Golf

The TGI PGA Assistant Awards winners are:

Year 1: Robert Watkins (Celtic Manor); Year 2: Rupert Pope (Sherborne); Year 3: Craig Jones (Celtic Manor).
Year 1: David Egan (Portsmouth Golf Centre); Year 2: Kerry Knowles (Wentworth); Year 3: Michael Evans (Burhill).
Year 1: Andrew Bentley (Cambridge Golf Academy); Year 2: Sarah Bennett (Three Rivers); Year 3: Alan Fletcher (American Golf).
Year 1: Lindsay Boyd (Donaghadee); Year 2: Deidre Judge (Island); Year 3: Michelle Carroll (Unattached).
Year 1: Alan Gibson (Troon Municipal Golf Course); Year 2: Kristopher McGowan (Burntisland); Year 3: Jonathan Cliff (Murrayfield).
Year 1: Daniel Parkin (The Belfry); Year 2: Andrew Foulds (Derby Sinfin); Year 3: Daniel Malcolm (Unattached).
Year 1: David White (Stand); Year 2: Jonathan Shipstone (Owston Hall Hotel); Year 3: Ben Waller (Kendal).

In related news... (GBN) is for the many thousands of people who work in the golf business all around the world.

We cover the full range of topics both on and off the course. We aim to supply essential information both quickly and accurately in a format which is easy to use. We are independent of all special interest groups.


Click here to sign up for our free twice weekly golf industry news summary

View the latest newsletter here